Symmetry and the Fourth Dimension (Part 1)

❤ !!

Azimuth

Coxeter complexes

Though I’m shifting toward applied math, I find myself unable to quit explaining pure math to people—stuff that’s fun purely for its own sake. So, I’ve been posting about symmetry and the fourth dimension over on Google+. Now I want to take those posts, polish them up a bit, and combine them into blog articles.

The idea is to start with something very familiar and then take it a little further than most people have seen… without getting so technical that only people with PhDs understand what’s going on. I’m more interested in communicating with ordinary folks than in wowing the experts.

So, I’ll assume you know and love the five Platonic solids:

? The tetrahedron, with 4 triangular faces, 6 edges and 4 vertices:

? The cube, with 6 square faces, 12 edges and 8 vertices:


? The octahedron, with 8 triangular…

View original post 1,268 more words

Leave a Reply

